GDC reappoints three Council members for additional terms

10 August, 2021

We are pleased to confirm the reappointment of three existing Council members, Terry Babbs, Anne Heal and Jeyanthi John, from 1 October 2021.

Terry’s reappointment term has been confirmed for three years until 30 September 2024. He will continue in his current roles as Chair of the Finance and Performance Committee and as the Senior Independent Council Member.

Anne’s reappointment is for four years to 30 September 2025, and she will continue as Chair of the Remuneration and Nomination Committee, and as a member of the Finance and Performance Committee.

Finally, Jeyanthi’s reappointment will be for a period of two years to 30 September 2023, and she will also continue in her current role as a member of the Remuneration and Nomination Committee.

The terms of reappointment have been set to create stability on the Council and to ensure that future appointments to Council can be managed within appropriate timescales.

The Council is the GDC's strategic body. It decides policy, sets strategic direction and approves key organisational changes. The Council works to promote public safety and ensure that the public have confidence in the dental profession.

In confirming the reappointments, GDC Chair Dr William Moyes said:

"I am delighted to confirm the reappointments of Terry, Anne and Jeyanthi to the GDC Council. All three have already made significant contributions to the work of Council, and I look forward to working with them for the rest of my term as Chair. I know their reappointments will help provide stability and ensure corporate knowledge is retained, ahead of the new Chair Lord Toby Harris taking office on 1 October."